Special Stage Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Need ride. Please send money.
1,278 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all-

I just found out that sternum latches on harnesses are not supposed to be allowed in SCCA Performance rally, and havent been(according to the rules) for a few years.

Ummm... Why?

Seriously. :) I dont understand this. Can anyone help me understand? Is this only for sternum latches that are not part of the harnesses?(maybe the "other" brand "latch type" only are banned?)

I have been using them for the last 3 yrs in SCCA Rally & have not had anyone tell me I shouldnt be. Every NASCAR & Trans AM car /driver combo I have worked with would not drive without one (cracked sternums suck). The type of sternum straps I use are integrated with the harnesses (Teamtech Rampak -5pt camlock). Theses are not cheapo belts.

Although I DID have 1 person tell me the he was surprised we used them because they were a choking hazard(in an accident). This was at a rally but not from any official or tech person, rather an MTC worker during idle conversation.

I have never heard of anyone choking on a sternum strap or latch. If anyone did, I cant imagine the harnesses were being used properly.

Anyone?

JC
www.gnimotorsports.com

·
Registered
901 Posts
I went and looked back through the 2003 rule book for the thing about sternum latches, and couldn't find it. So I guess this was just something that had been orally discouraged, at least locally; no one I know of around these here parts has used sternum latches, that I know of.