Special Stage Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im new to this but ive researched it a little and i decided that i will get into rallying after i get out of school (about a year)
Now im planning on building my own car to rally in either Group2 or Group5 club rallies
The cars im considering
An older MK3 supra turbo
89-94 240sx
As you see i think i would prefer something FR
What do you think about these cars and should i do rally cross before i get into club rally?

·
Registered
250 Posts
As a relative newcommer myself, I chose Grp 5 Ford Sierra Cosworth for the dollars/fun ratio (being built of the '04 season). I would recommend going to several events, and getting a feel for what is currently popular and why. Most people will be extremely helpful as long as they aren't thrashing to keep a car going... My personal oppinion, I would be a bit wary of the Turbo Supra, they are very heavy cars and the past ones I've seen have had trouble keeping brakes under them.

Greg,
Crew Chief
1989 GTX #291

Vive le Prole-le-ralliat!!!

·
Registered
789 Posts
Are you wealthy?

These are neat cars but perhaps a little pricey to develop.

You are better off getting your feet wet with a purchase of a built "popular" car (VW, VOLVO, TOYOTA Corrola, etc).

·
Registered
689 Posts
I only have three things to say:
Buy a car,Buy a car ,Buy a car!!!!!
Do not fall in love with some car because you happen to like it. You can buy a starter car for 3-5K , remember you are going to roll this thing.A 240 like a Supra is a heavy pig plus few people run them , so there isn't a lot of support. Think VW rabbit/golf , old rear drive Corolla or RX 7. You'll spend 7-10k building the basic car plus it will take you two years.
Now while saving your pennies , go to an event and work Tech plus a stage;Tech will allow you to see the prep work up close , bieng on a stage crew will give you an idea of the abuse Rally cars indure!!!

Tom Grossmann

·
Registered