Special Stage Forums banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
276 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new in rally, can somebody explain me why SCCA as different rules and class than the FIA. It would seem natural to try to match the FIA class in all the US rally if you want to be able to host,and compete in a WRC rally if they come to the US. And according to the WRC web site, there is a really good chance they will come. Also it would seem cheaper for the big manufactor to race in the US under FIA rules by just bringing some of the car from Europe. Now they have to make special one just for the SCCA. Ramada rally in Nevada as FIA rules and it seems to work pretty good. It seems weard to me to have the same sport with different rules. Every body play football, baseball, soccer with the same rules all over the world, why can't we do the same with rally. like I said, I'm new, so I'm sure there is a lot of think I don't know about.
Stephan:)

·
Registered
253 Posts
snip...
>It seems weard to me to have the same sport with
>different rules. Every body play football, baseball, soccer
>with the same rules all over the world, why can't we do the
>same with rally. snip...>Stephan:)

The short answer is that football, baseball, soccer doesn't have the US federal and/or state governments writing the laws on how the ball or field should be built, like they do for automobiles. US rules need to reflect what cars are built/imported here, and what can be legally operated on public roads. Even with more restrictive rules there has been several discussions here and on Rally-L about how many open class cars are in the legal grey areas.

Bill

·
Registered
162 Posts