Special Stage Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
The Stigs fat American cousin
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
are halo style cages legal for SCCA rally, considering all other requirements are met? I am working on a car with a heavy duty cage of excellent construction (1.75"x.120" DOM Mild steel) however the cage design incorporates a "halo" style roof support (instead of a traditional "front hoop" ), I'm sure I can get the required data to support the design will qualify for section 5.6.M however to support that rule I'll require Stress mockups therefor the assistance of an engineer is needed, I really do not feel like adding that cost into the car build.

does anyone have experence with this?

Thanks,Jeff

________
Zoloft help

·
I am not here anymore
2,798 Posts
I have no experience with this and am definitely not an expert, but according to the rule book, in Article 5.6.L.2, "a similar hoop (similar to the main roll hoop) must be in front, supporting the roof and front pillars with horizontal bars connecting the front hoop to the main hoop at each side of the top." If a halo design is what I think it is, this rule would preclude the use of a halo design.

alan

·
don't cut
2,252 Posts
Email Doug Robinson. He is the newly crowned SCCA Chief Scrutineer for rally cars. I met him at CT, he's a good guy, and he knows his stuff. You can mess around with opinions and speculations but a simple clarification from him will solve everything. As I understand, when it comes to scrutineering, his word is final. I don't have any contact info, but if you call SCCA I'm sure they can furnish it.

And by all means, keep us informed of the results!

Dennis Martin
[email protected]
920-432-4845

·
Registered
289 Posts
Lovell's Subaru passed tech at CT with a "halo" front cage, plus much triangulation at the top of the A-pillars and in the unique design of the main hoop.
Anyone have photos of it to share?

gb

·
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 · (Edited)