Special Stage Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2,757 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I also submitted a revision of the whole rules section on roll cages; I have been wanting for years to make this clearer and more readable. My revision was mainly intended to keep the same rules but make them better organized and usable.

I did propose 2 new items:

1) require that bolt-in cages be mounted to weld-in plates in unibody cars (backup plates would still be allowed if mounting to a frame member); I think this is a big improvement in bolt-in cage safety. I tried to write it so that only the weld-in plates would be needed and existing bolt-in cages could be kept with this change. Proposed effective date would be Jan 1, 2004.
2) Specify maximum lenghts on the diagonal bars being places beside the occupants' heads (between main hoop uprigthts and the tube over the doors). I am concerned that we may be creating an unseen head injury problem. I am no expert here so discussion on this would be good.

This proposal is a 7 page Word document so it too long to post in a message. I will email this to whoever emials me for a copy. And, if someone would be so kind to help me, it could be linked here. (I am proud that I am so ignorant to not be able to do this; John V. you modern weenie! :7 )

I am open to creating an alternate proposal to make our cages compatible with those from the frozen northern lands. I first wanted to create a good framework to replace what we have.

Again, this message is a courtesy to my many friends here on this Forum. Please let the PRB go through their process on this and use this to study and think on this issue, so we can have ourselves well sorted and organized when they open this issue for comment, if it gets that far!

Regards,
Mark B. :)

·
Registered
73 Posts