Special Stage Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
much to learn I have
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings all!

First of all, I want to say hello since I'm brand new to the forum and that this is my first post! I hope you don't find my complete novice questions beneath you guys. =p

I've been interested in rallying for a few years now and am finally in a position where I can seriously consider buying a car and getting into this ridiculously fun-looking sport. Since I am a complete beginner, I've done plenty of due diligence by reading a lot of threads here and other places as to what to consider when buying a first car and whether or not to actually build one or buy a used, pre-prepped car. After considering the many options and opinions, I think I'm going to stick with a VW Golf and build it up myself, upgrading parts and such as I gain experience. I'm liking the idea of a non-turbo, FWD car to beat up and learn in for a while.

That said, are there specific model years that are better than others for rally? I've seen a lot of MkII's out there and I assume that newer model years start getting more expensive to run with spare parts and all. You can tell me if this is logical thinking, but I have a concern that investing in an older MkII might become frustrating since they are over 20 yrs old now and that getting parts will be increasingly difficult. So does a MkIII or MkIV make sense? Is there a sweet-spot for Golfs nowadays? How much would make sense to pay for any of these options?

I have a MkV GTI as my daily driver now and totally love it. I've thought about trying a few auto cross or rally cross events in that but I'd prefer not to mess it up by doing that.

Other general opinions and insights are more than welcome! Hope to see some of you around =)

·
Registered
79 Posts
Welcome,

You can rallyX anything without messing it up, typically. I currently rallyX my Nissan Versa daily driver.