Special Stage Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
151 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm not a lawyer (I just play one on TV), but have wondered.....

To what extent do you suppose potential sponsors, land owners & road owners shy away from involvement in rallying due to potential liablity lawsuits?

Most other sports in the US are neatly contained and controlled within an arena. However, as ye all know, rallying is not, & therefore has the potential to injure people and property in infinite ways.

Last week a California jury just awarded a woman $28,000,000,000.00 with a tobacco company's money because they didn't warn her of cigarettes' dangers.

Do you suppose that a jury would hesitate to penalize British American Tobacco equally if it sponsored a car here and it maimed someone?:'(

Would reasonable tort reform help calm the fears of sponsors?

·
Registered
222 Posts
Reasonable tort reform would add billions to America's GNP. Unfortunately, our country is run by lawyers (and soon, senior citizens) so there's not much chance of constructive change.

In this sort of environment, practicioners of risky activities have to be careful to stay under the radar--combining such activities with similar safe activities into one big, insurable lump. It would be incredibly foolish and probably ultimately fatal to the sport of rally in the U.S. if someone went around and told everyone how potentially dangerous it can be.

Fortunately, no one would be that dumb, so we're pretty safe. ;)

·
Registered
1,998 Posts
Tort reform is coming slowly for a lot of reasons...and despite Mr. Bogert's indictment of lawyers, the ABA is in favor of it. It has to happen on the state level, because most of the huge awards are in state courts. Legislators seem to have more important things on their plate - at least in my state.