Special Stage Forums banner

1 - 20 of 95 Posts

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
no i'm not an expert, have never rallied but....

when you can go to a local pro rally event and win $2500

in snowboarding, local pro events have this type of money on almost a weekly basis.

the REAL pro events that draw the big names are in the 15,000 to 40,000 range

these are not the purse amts they are the first place figure and while local comps only pay to 3rd the big ones pay at least the top 5. i have done comps that paid to 15th.... but then again there were 175 people there.

ya need a bigger base

more entries = more purse

josh

·
Nerd with a clock & clipboard
252 Posts
Try explaining to the Gent from Wales Friday night at the bar in Laughlin while watching Pro Rodeo on ESPN why the barrel racer's prize for first was something like $188,000.00

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
maybe start with just refunding the entries for the winner?

ALL WE NEED IS MORE ENTRIES........................................

JOSH LONG

·
Registered
946 Posts
>maybe start with just refunding the entries for the winner?
>
>ALL WE NEED IS MORE
>ENTRIES........................................
>
>JOSH LONG

I don't know if you are being sarcastic or not...

More entries? I don't think that is the answer to lowering costs. If you have room for 80 cars, and have 130 trying to enter, it stands to reason that if you double entry fee you would still have half the teams sign up. Oversubscribed events give Pro only rallies a reason to raise their price.

·
Registered
103 Posts
Those in the off-road community were also fed up with their payback. Although the promoters ALWAYS pay back a percentage of the entry fee to the purse for the class, the racers wanted more. So, they formed semi-formal associations and created their own purses. You can see examples of this at: http://www.pro1600.com/about.htm, http://www.prodirt.net/why.html, and http://www.pro-10.com/rules.php