Special Stage Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

For those of you who don't know, I'm a student at Michigan Tech and for the past 2 years we've had drivers and co-drivers come to Tech's campus to talk to students about rallying. This helps recruit workers and being primarily an engineering school, the students love to learn about the cars and the sport. Last year Vermont Sports Car brought both Evo's and a service truck to campus on the Tursday prior to the LSPR. They gave out nearly 500 posters, some of which were signed by the drivers and co-drivers. Later in the evening we had a "structured" discussion about rallying with Mark Utecht, Chris Whiteman, Steve Gingras, Tim O'Neil (total surprise) and Cindy Krolikowski. I've been assigned to organize another campus event this fall before the LSPR, but I'm not sure what is best to do.

Here are the ideas:

Have an open ended discussion about Rallying with a few drivers much like before.

or

Have an hour or two display or cars on campus Thursday before the LSPR begins. (Lots of drivers are willing to participate)

(Both could be possible, but it all has to be organized around the practice stage)

The advisor for the Society of Automotive Engineers wants me to organize something that will draw media attention to Michigan Tech, but I'm not sure if a hour long "lecture" would do that. I'm not looking to promote Michigan Tech, I'm trying to promote rallying. If it works out, him and I could both achieve our very different goals, but I'm not sure how to do it yet.

I need any and all comments. Thank you.

-Josh
Michigan Tech Undergraduate

·
your other left, you idiot
3,909 Posts
MTU

Josh-