Special Stage Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Rapidly filling your mirrors
315 Posts
Went and checked out the Mt. Washington hillclimb road yesterday. Cloudy and 37 degrees at the summit.

While the grade is steeper (avg. 12%), its def. more of a 'rally like' road with some very narrow spots. The Sprongl video (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_ubWsXgdaJ8) doesn't do it justice. He was just flying! Overall elevation change is slightly more than at PPIHC, but the summit is only 6288.

Who's in? :D

Dave
When do we leave?

Wells had suggested a true Hill Climb series many years ago that included this and a few others. Likelihood today of course is about zip....too bad it would be fun. (and costly)

*Lucky save about 3/4 up! If it had been dirt he'd have been in the ditch drivers left!

·
315 Posts
Is there really a difference enough here to justify 11 classes??!

I admit I'm no fender expert but I gotta believe that they are hoping half of this doesn't even garner an entry....

Pikes Peak Open
Rally America - Open
Rally America - Open Light
Rally America - Super Production
Rally America - Production GT
Rally America - Production
Rally America - Group 5
Rally America - Group 2
Time Attack - 2WD
Time Attack- 4WD

·
315 Posts
Dave, Dave, Dave....as they say in a homicide: follow the money.

Don't you see the headlines? "Audi returns to Pikes Peak!" Albeit not quite the same....

With Audi's cut backs in ALMS and the push to promote more clean diesel tech this is a natural link and one that I'd bet has some corp money behind it also. (if it's all really true) I can see a fleet of Audi support cars, "official vehicles" and such to accompany the hoopla of the run. Win on Sunday, sell on Monday? Maybe not but the race has been struggling for the past ten years for a mfg sponsor and this remains on more way to try and secure it. The VW connection a few years ago was a good way to open the door but there was no logical connection to race history. This promo has that.