Special Stage Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Anyone know of swift owners that rally? I'm completely new to rally, have done scca national racing in the past (prod car). Have swift GT streetcar. I'm waiting to see how scca classes this car for limited prep road racing; if it goes heavy & outclassed - I may try making a rally car.

I know its easier / cheaper to buy a already done car (and I'm still looking). But I'm on at least a one year hold for financial reasons.

Just for speculation - how would a swift gt do in production or G2?

I know I need a rulebook, but what is a (quick) summary for production & g2 rules? Are they designed to allow a production car to "upgrade" to g2 in the future? I would mainly be looking for cage rules I guess.

And of course, I'd be looking for suspension, wheels, seats, lights...

thanks in advance
Kendall Jones (detroit)
[email protected]

·
Registered
665 Posts
Back in the early 90's here in Canada, we had a Suzuki-supported entry level program. I think it was around $10K CAN for a fully prep'd car. A number of people took advantage and as a result, some of these cars are still competing.

CARS classifies these cars in P1 - production under 1400cc - where it is very competitive. With engine mods it'd go to Group 2.

If you're in Detroit, your best bet is Canadian rallies. There are at least four regional rallies within four hours driving distance, a few Swifts already running, low low Canadian dollar, the already mentioned advantageous class structure, very little bickering and very well-organized events.

Check out http://www.carsrally.ca

Robin

·
CR>R5 into L3- 100 Finish
626 Posts
OK...
Group 2: modified, max dis. up to 2400ccm, natural aspiration, interior gutted.
Prodution: stock, max dis. up to 2650ccm, natural, interior must remain.
The swift is actually a fairly good rallye car and ideal to start. Parts are not too hard to come by and affordable.
NorthWind RallyeSport

·