Special Stage Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
3/14=my 42nd rally anniversary
3,979 Posts
>It's a real one--not a kit. Asking $50k. Good for vintage
>rally--if you could bear to thrash such a pretty jewel...
>

I needn't worry about trashing such a dandy piece since I don't fit in them well enough to ever drive one! Last time I sat behind the steering wheel of a Stratos it took two guys helping to get my knees unwedged from under the dash! The cockpits in those cars are tiny!

Halley ...
http://www.realautosport.com

·
Registered
162 Posts
Sorry Jon, It's a very neat find, but it's a Kit.

I've been told that the owner of this one has been known to claim it was the real thing but I have no personal experience in the matter. I originally saw the car for sale (for $25K) quite some time ago. It is an early Hawk Cars HF3000QV and has a Ferrari 308 V8 engine (which explains why it needs the NACA ducts on the sides for extra cooling). As I remember, the bodywork was nice enough but it had a home-made dash that looked pretty bad (as in not at all like a real Stratos). I can post some other pictures of it if anyone is interested.

If you're ever wondering if a Stratos is real or not, one of the easy kit give-aways is 4 bolt hubs. Many of the newer kits have the proper 5 bolt hubs though so this only works for older ones. If you can look at the engine, all the real cars used the Ferrari Dino 246 V6. Very few kits have this engine as it is so expensive ($20K+). The real test though is to knock on the roof. All the real cars had a steel monocoque but the kits, no matter how well prepared, will always be fiberglass.

John B.

PS - Hope I don't sound like I'm taking the fun out of seeing the car or anything - It's always fun to see a neat & unusual car. I just don't like the idea of him trying to sell it as a real one. It makes for bad feelings between us kit owners and the people with the real ones.

·
1973 WRC POR
2,421 Posts