Special Stage Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
L6 500 R6
204 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Since I have no prior racing experience I'd like to ask a question of those who have come to rally from other motorsports. Would you consider rally to be more or less demanding on the driver(s) than other forms of motorsports. Especially those of you who do your own service and have limited support. I see lots of posts about getting into rally and what kind of car should I get but little about what happens after you get the car.

·
Slid'n around 'n havin a ball
2,953 Posts
I'd say yes without a doubt.
I've raced pro and amateur series for 20 years and always been a threat to win or won. This is a humbling group, a lot of very fast drivers in this sport. Racing without a net too, few workers, few safety considerations, no one to follow to learn from. Pretty daunting stuff. I learn more every stage than a season of road racing and I'm glad I had the varied background before starting this.
rz

·
Registered
590 Posts
Right now, I would say that it is about the same level of involvement and expense as when I raced motorcycles.

Granted, I raced bikes at a higher level than I currently run rally so it may not be a fair comparison.

Back then, I did almost all of the work on the bike before getting to the events. Only minor jetting and gearing changes were done at the track. But there was still plenty to do.

What I got out of the bike experience was a desire NOT to travel to events that are more than 5 or 6 hours away on a consistent basis. My desire for sitting behind the steering wheel and droning down the interstate has been satisfied for the rest of my life.

As far as rally goes right now, I consider myself fortunate. I have a few friends who really enjoy just being there and helping out, so I have an easier time because I don't have to worry about anything other than driving at events. Having co-driven, I'd have to say that driving is the easy part.