Special Stage Forums banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My name is Max Fischer, and I am a filmmaker and racing nut. In the past month, I have started producing a documentary about rally racing. This is not the typical "best of" or highlight film. This film is geared towards the average television viewer, not the racing enthusiast. It is not a reality show. Imagine a 1-hour show on the Discovery Channel, with the formula, quality, and production value of "Rides." I have done a lot of work with the Discovery Channel, and I know what they look for in a show.

The following is a treatment, working title for now is just "Show"

"Ask a boy anywhere in the world what he wants to be when he grows up. You will get a variety of answers. Some will be realistic, but many of them will be dreams. One of those dreams is to become a racecar driver.

Auto racing is one of the most popular sports in the world. It spans the globe: sometimes it's on ice, sometimes it's in the desert. It has hundreds of sanctioning organizations and types of events. It has an audience of millions. And, much like baseball has little league, the minors and the pros, racing has a variety of competitive levels.

We are all familiar with the highest competitive level of racing. We see it everyday on television, billboards, and even cereal boxes. In America, NASACAR's Daytona 500 race is now among the ranks of the NFL Superbowl and Major League Baseball's World Series. In Europe, Formula One is as popular as World Cup Soccer. The teams in these racing leagues have the best drivers. They have the best crews. They have the best technology. And most of all, they have sponsors. Even with costs in the tens of millions to run a race team, it's easy for a sponsor to justify the expense of racing for the exposure of their brand.