Special Stage Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Marketing through Motorsports
1,385 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi John,

I am having trouble logging into Special Stage.com to post my review of the HANS Devise. Must be operator error!!! Would you mind posting this on my behalf? I would like to get the information out there as requested by many at MFR.

Thanks,

Lee
[hr]
At the Maine Forest Rally last weekend, I got the opportunity to use a HANS Device for the first time. As far as I know, I am the first co-driver to test this device in performance rallying.

A little background. I have been considering purchasing a HANS for several years, but the cost seemed to outweigh the benefit. Additionally, I was concerned about mobility inside the car as well as entry and egress from the car. My old race team owner/driver had one of the original HANS units and it was very difficult for him to get in and out of the car. And he is small. Those who know me know that I am a normal sized guy like Lurch.

Oregon changed all that and moved a decision to a top priority. I talked to Mark Utecht at OTPR about his HANS that he has used for more than a year. Mark was very helpful and encouraged me to try something. In addition, the previous SS thread regarding head & neck restraints was very useful. I researched all of the Web sites (HANS, Simpson, Hutchins, etc.). After doing my research, I concluded that none of the devices on the market really help significantly in a direct side impact. So, I decided that I would go with clearly the best protection for frontal impact (and up to 30 degrees per side) ? the HANS device.