Special Stage Forums banner
1 - 20 of 101 Posts

·
Registered
152 Posts
i recently started running pace instead of competing. i thought a hand held was gonna be my purchase. all of the local hams told me to get a mobile instead. (mounted in my car) it seemed to be pretty unanimous that a hand held would not be powerful enough. i got a yaesu. forgot what model, but it can put out 60 watts and seems to be just fine.

·
Media Dude
1,464 Posts
where are you located?

and for me, I am a recent ham grad as well
i picked up the ICOM 2200H - pretty basic, pretty cheap, but does what i need.

the instructor at the course I took said that a handheld would work, if I got an extra antenna with adapter to mount to the top of the roof and then hook in to the handheld. but im sure others here can weigh in better on this.

in fact, if you do a search of the whole SS forum, you will find a few ham threads already that might have some good info too :)

·
Registered
234 Posts
Bottom line it's really nice to have both. Being a dollars and cents thing, buy the mobile first. In rallying, it's by far the more important of the two to have. Output power is what you need in the back country. I agree with Shawn, you can't beat an Icom, the V8000, kicks out 75 watts! And they're the simplest on the market, too!

I've organised a lot of ham courses, mostly for the rally guys, and some go the HT (handy-talky or hand held transceiver) route, with a mag mount antenna, and it just doesn't work unless you're able to hit the repeater, or on top of net control! Then they go and buy a portable 30 to 50 watt, 12 volt amp, which, by design frys the guts of a HT designed to handle 5 to 7 watts. It just can't dissipate the heat. Ever see a fluted heat sink as you see on the back of a mobile on a HT? No.