Special Stage Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How many people actually rally for their career or rally related?? other wise what does every one else do?? i am graduating from Michigan tech in 1.5 years and just want to see whats out there.

·
Registered
2,757 Posts
Currently, the only folks doing this for a living in the US are those running prep and build shops, or sales outlets for 'stuff'. And, if I did this, I would not limit myself to just rallying, so as to have a broader business base. (Of course, the focus on rallying could get watered down; it's a balancing act like so many things.)

I'll stick with wireless systems engineering, implementation, and sales of such, and running my litle business in that industry. Too late to change horses now.

Regards, and good luck!
Mark B.

·
Mä meen vittu sinne!
6,058 Posts
I've always been of the type that likes to keep work and play separate. I'm a statistical analyst/economist right now. Start grad school in Sept. and plan to go into higher education as a professor doing research in the medical field. When people ask me what I do for a living I tell them I am a statistician and that I build and race rally cars.

·
Registered
1,407 Posts
I am a rally car driver. If you go into any restaurant in LA and ask your waitress what her career is, she will certainly tell you she is an actress. She's just doing this gig between roles.

If you want to be successful, you have to tell yourself and others what you are. About two years ago, I stopped telling people I was a designer and started saying I was a race car driver.

I put more time into racing (car prep, marketing, travel, meetings, chasing down parts, keeping sponsors happy, and a little bit of actually driving) than I do on my day job. It is beginning to pay off.