Special Stage Forums banner

Car questions

3K views 4 replies 2 participants last post by  shauny423 
#1 · (Edited)
Hi there excuse any dumb questions as I am very new to rally cross and am trying to undertand all the details (will be attending team oneil in a couple months) So i have been looking through various rule books and have noticed all have specs on engine cc's but none say how many cylinders is it understood they all have to b 4 cylinders or could you go with a v8? also do they all have to be sedans or could coupes work too? Also do they all have to be even for grc and amauter rally like rally america stuff do they have to be 2.0 liters 4 cylinder or can u even go for the 2.5. Thanks so much for helping me out

#2 ·
There is no regulation in the rule books that relates to the number of cylinders, one could stuff a V-10 under the hood of a rally car (there is a Lamborghini Gallardo rally car [with a V-10] being built right now) as long as the total displacement was under the ultimate max for G5 (large, 2WD).

AWD doesn't let people go much beyond the stock Subaru engines, as most of the AWD classes were designed around Subarus. Depending on what class you're looking at, 2.5 falls in different places. Most non-turbo AWD cars (Open Light) are the 2.5RS-engined Subarus (Legacy, impreza, etc).

If you're looking at 2WD 2.5L falls below the cutoff for G2/G5 and would put you in the G2 (Low-displacement 2WD) class.

I've seen all types of rally cars (except convertibles, because they have to be full-bodied), wagons, sedans, coupes, Jeep Cherokees, Toyota Rav4's (a Rav4 is tied for national championship points going into the last race of the season at LSPR this weekend). Now, just because you CAN use almost anything, doesn't mean you should. Coupe's tend to be small, so after you throw a cage in it there's very little room to sit, and it can be uncomfortable. Sedans and hatchbacks seem to be the cars of choice for most people.