RWD vs. FWD, which is a good lead into AWD?
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: RWD vs. FWD, which is a good lead into AWD?

i wanna go fast.

Default RWD vs. FWD, which is a good lead into AWD?

Hello Drivers!

I was not sure where to post this question, so I decided to pick here since I am looking for feedback from drivers.

I am a newb, never drove any car for competition on dirt, and am trying my best to get into some sort of rallying this year. Like most people, I dream of blasting through the woods in a sweet AWD race car, and that is still my end goal. I have no problem building my own car, but with respect time and cost, my immediate goal is buying a used car in the hopes of getting seat time during the 2015 season.

So this is my question, since I'm a soley focued on seat time and cost, I am looking at prepper FWD and RWD cars (honestly because they same cheaper). Since my goal is AWD, which car do you drivers believe prepare you best for the jump to AWD?

I've done tons of internet (hopefully not full of lies) research on how FWD car control is focused on mastering left foot braking during the corner to control oversteer. This seems super cool, and a great way to practice car control.

RWD I haven't much as much research. In my head, I feel that AWD and RWD are similiar in corner entry use the rear brake bias to iniate oversteer and maintain it via throttle.

I could be horrbily wrong with my research, which is why I am posting this question, which car handles similiar to AWD car and best prepares you for the jump?

My goals for 2015 are buy a used rally car, attend local rallyx's, then possible enter one NASA rally event with the car (not sure on this part). Then I want to go to Rally school (here it is team O'neil) so I have at least a little expierence before heading out there.

First part of this involves the car, any input guys?

thanks for your time!