Converting AWD Dsm to Open Light class
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Converting AWD Dsm to Open Light class

Default Converting AWD Dsm to Open Light class

I figured this is the best place to post this question. I am planning to buy a logged booked 1G Mitsubishi Eclipse. I want to convert the car to Open Light class, because I am a new driver. Has anyone done this by keeping the same engine and removing the turbo and blocking off the turbo lines? I guess this could also be a question for the Subaru cars converted to Open Light. Thanks

2. Remove Advertisements
    SpecialStage.com
    Advertisements

Assuming you're going for coefficients with plan to go back to turbo?
    Easiest is to remove turbo, fab a connector for downpipe to exhaust manifold, then just connect of block off oil or water lines. It'll be slow with the low compression.
    If you're aiming strictly for open light easiest to just find a NA engine that will swap in relatively easily.
    Grant Hughes - 1985 Merkur XR$TI Group 5
    rally.build
    885 Parfet St Ste C
    Denver, CO 80215

I thought it might be that simple. I am planning on running the turbo once I get enough coefs. I am guessing the MAF should be able to adjust the air fuel ratio, because the air is going directly into the intake manifold? Any ideas on how power the engine will have with no turbo? The stock engine has about 200HP.

5. Remove Advertisements
    SpecialStage.com
    Advertisements

Quote Originally Posted by johbjork View Post
    Any ideas on how power the engine will have with no turbo?
    according to the internet, the 4G63 had 9:1 compression and made 135hp. The 4G63T had 7.8:1 compression - I'd guess 100hp, maybe?

Thanks for pointing out that difference in compression ratios. My Chilton manual was showing the same compression ratio for the two engines, until I turned the page. It is definitely something to think about when the engine is only producing that little power.