Removing Wiring.. Just want to be sure..
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Removing Wiring.. Just want to be sure..

Default Removing Wiring.. Just want to be sure..

When building a PGT Car, is there anything in the rules regarding changing/modifying the Chassis Wiring Harness? I have begun removing excess wiring (I HATE cluttered wiring harnesses with useless crap), and i'm removing wiring for things that our car didnt come with from the factory (Rear Wiper, Headlight adjusters, etc), and i'm wondering if i can remove the SRS wiring and everything else thats not used while i'm at it..

2. Remove Advertisements
    SpecialStage.com
    Advertisements

50 caution yump

As I understand Production (PGT) rules, it is pretty clear, if it doesn't say you can do it then you CAN'T. I am not an expert, but I really doubt that you can strip down wiring harneses and such in PGT.

Time to get a rule book!

don't cut

You cannot strip the wiring harness in PGT.

What kind of Evo and what are you doing for tires and wheels?

5. Remove Advertisements
    SpecialStage.com
    Advertisements

I am not here anymore AlanPerry's Avatar

Dunno. He raises an interesting point.

For example, he asked about SRS (airbags). The rules say that "airbags" must be removed. So, what constitutes "airbags"? Just the airbag assemblies? How about seat belt tightening igniters? How about the airbag control module? What about the crash sensors? So, why not the wiring that leads to those things?

Heymagic, its a 2004 Evo RS, and we are running Compmotive 15x6.5's for gravels, and stock evo wheels for street/tarmac currently..

And thats my point... it says you can't remove anything that the car was originally equipped with... But this car was never equipped with the wing, rear wiper, headlight adjusters, and things like that. The car is wired for all kinds of things that the RS never came with. Thats what I want to remove.

And yeah, Tipo brings up a good point... What defines "removing airbags"...