Which tires should I use?

Thread: Which tires should I use?

Default Which tires should I use?

I am relatively new to rallycross and cant figure out which tires to use. I run a 2000# fwd Civic in M2. In New England, we mostly have soil or some loose gravel. Any help would be appreciated.

2. Remove Advertisements
    SpecialStage.com
    Advertisements

Quote Originally Posted by Chang View Post
    I am relatively new to rallycross and cant figure out which tires to use. I run a 2000# fwd Civic in M2. In New England, we mostly have soil or some loose gravel. Any help would be appreciated.

I would suggest either the S525 Mud Tire or the S505 gravel tire. The mud tire works really well in sod, but in warmer, harder pack surfaces, it can wear quicker than a standard rally tire. The S505 is a great all around tire and certainly better than a stock tire or snow tire, but in the mud, isn't quite as good as the mud tire.

Hope that helps!

Mark Tabor
    www.taborrallyteam.com

Default size?

In the S525 Mud tire, which size would you recommend? I have both 14 and 15 inch wheels. I am thinking tall, but will the width slow me down?

5. Remove Advertisements
    SpecialStage.com
    Advertisements

In the S525 Mud tire, which size would you recommend? I have both 14 and 15 inch wheels. I am thinking tall, but will the width slow me down?
    If it were me, I'd go with 14", as ground clearance shouldn't be the issue in RX.

Mark Tabor
    www.taborrallyteam.com

Talking one thing....

One other thing to think on...
    If you are in a class that alows you to change the tire size or if you have a choice the 14 in tire is smaller around so you would have better gearing for the lower speeds of a RX.
    Todd

1965#, 160hp, Quaife. In the VTEC in first gear, 30-40mph, 2nd gear 40-60mph with standard size tires.
    We get lots of deep ruts because of the looseness of the soil. The tires spin with throttle application at will when in the VTEC.