Newb from MN... [Archive] - SpecialStage Forums

: Newb from MN...

russellmn
01-15-2012, 03:36 AM
Hey ya'll! I'm just a newb to stage rally, getting into it through a new project that came through my doors. (I have a small part time business building roll cages, bumpers, etc for Jeeps mainly) Guy I was in the Army with has a rally car, needs to rebuild it or build all new. He's opted to go new and we're gonna start on it this week. 03 WRX, he's open class.

So, I've come here to do my research prior to starting. I've been researching and planning for about 3 weeks now, almost exclusively on the cage part of it. From what I've seen in the FIA rule book, the cages are pretty easy and shouldn't take long. I'm used to having to look at something for a while to decide what's gonna be both strong/safe AND look good. This will be easier, they say a tube goes there, well then let's put a tube there! :p

Anyway, you'll probably see me post up with questions now and then, but most of the time I'm pretty quiet and just searching through old posts to find my answers on my own.

I also won't be surprised if I start building my own stage car in the next year or so... :rolleyes:

Mark Holden
01-15-2012, 07:45 PM
Since you already know the MNSubaru crown and ZipTie rally (at least via Chux), you're got a lot of local resources you can connect to already. Are you talking about Izzy with the Open car? It's not someone trying to start out in an Open car, right?

russellmn
01-15-2012, 10:53 PM
The customer has been running open class for a couple years, doesn't want to let it be known he's building a new one yet :D When he's ready for it to be public, I'll put that info out and start posting some pics of it. No, I don't know why he wants to hide it, not my problem though. lol

I do know Izzy and Chux, as well as Izzy's co-dog Standage and will be talking to all of them as much as I can to get info for this build. But I like to get all I can.