Subaru Rally Team USA’s David Higgins and Craig Drew of the United Kingdom were declared the winner of the shortened Olympus National Rally, finishing Stage 6 with a 15 second lead over the second place Rockstar Mitsubishi crew of Antoine L’Estage and Nathalie Richard. Subaru Rally Team Canada driver Pat Richard of Squamish, British Columbia completed the overall podium. Richard was competing at Olympus as a one-off event with his new co-driver, Leanne Junnila.

This is the first American event Higgins has won since winning the 2002-2003 SCCA ProRally Championship. He went on to win multiple British Rally Championships before replacing action sport icon Travis Pastrana on Subaru Rally Team USA at the beginning of this year.

Super Production Class driver, Travis Hanson from Traverse City, MI took the Super Production class win, beating Carl Jardevall in second and Lauchlin O’Sullivan in third.

Hanson, who placed fifth overall at Olympus, remarkably continues to lead the Rally America Championship points race! SRT USA’s Dave Mirra, a BMX action sports legend and X Games athlete, now trails Hanson by a single point in the standings after finishing the rally 15 seconds ahead of him to claim fourth overall. Hanson continues to make Rally America history by being the first Super Production team to ever lead the overall Championship heading into the second half of the season.

Antoine L’Estage and David Higgins are now tied for third place in the standings going into the fourth round, the Oregon Trail Rally in Portland, OR this May 13-15th.

In the National 2-Wheel-Drive Class, Mazda driver Wyatt Knox and co-driver Ole Holter narrowly won, defeating the local team of Tom and Don Burress by a mere 10.5 seconds. Brian Gottlieb form Portland, OR rounded out the 2WD podium by finishing 16.5 seconds against Andrew Comrie-Picard on his 2011 Scion xD debut. Wyatt Knox also wins the opening round to the 2011 MaxAttack! 2-Wheel-Drive Series.

Chris O’Driscoll won the Ray Damitio Regional Rally in 2007 Subaru WRX, which was run on day one of the Olympus Rally.

About RallyCar
Based in Golden Valley, Minn., RallyCar sanctions the premier performance rally series in the United States, the Rally America National Championship Series. In 2011, RallyCar is conducting six National Championship events at venues across the country, from Olympia, Washington to Newry, Maine. RallyCar competitors reach speeds of well over 100 mph in modified street cars on natural-terrain courses consisting of gravel, dirt or snow. Additionally, RallyCar sanctions the 2011 U.S. Rallycross Championship featuring rally cars racing door-to-door on tricky tarmac/dirt race tracks. More information about rally and rallycross can be found at, and videos can viewed at

RallyCar’s 2011 Rally America National Championship is proudly supported by Subaru of America, Inc., VP Racing Fuels, Best Buy, Grassroots Motorsports Magazine, Danza del Sol Winery, Ford Racing, Team O’Neil Rally School, RECARO USA, Hawk Performance Brakes, Exedy Racing Clutches, and

For detailed National, Regional, and MaxAttack! results from Olympus, please visit:

Olympus Rally videos and photos:

Photo Credit: | Aaron Kathman



Powered by Facebook Comments