BILSTEIN Shock Absorbers is pleased to announce that California-based rally racer George Doganis is the recipient of the Madonna Award for Racing Excellence for his racing accomplishments in 2010. An active participant in the SouthWest RallyCup Series, Doganis captured the overall championship in the inaugural year of the BILSTEIN Cup Class in his 1997 Honda Civic. The presentation of the prestigious award took place at the annual SouthWest RallyCup Series awards banquet in January.

The tradition of the BILSTEIN Madonna award in the United States began in 1984 with the Winston Cup championships, and has evolved to recognize the accomplishments of individuals in many areas of on and off-road motorsports. Notable recipients have included Terry Labonte, Bill Elliott, Dale Earnhardt, Ivan Stewart, and Brett Hearn. While Doganis has the honor of being included with this list of racing legends, he also has the distinction of being the first rally racer in North America to receive this award.

BILSTEIN respects the sacrifice and dedication required to achieve success in the demanding sport of rally racing, and we extend our sincerest congratulations to George Doganis.

Per George Doganis quotes; “I am back at my house and I am staring at the Madonna award and still cannot believe it. An unbelievable honor for me to get the award and the fantastic press release Cami wrote! I am looking back at when I was a teenager daydreaming about cars in my old country, Greece and where I am now. What a fascinating, amazing journey. Thank you very much because without your persistent efforts to deliver a meaningful Southwest Rally championship I would have not been able to get this amazing award!”

The press release presented by Bilstein USA West Coast Operations. They sponsor the Southwest RallyCup Series with director Denise McMahon.



Powered by Facebook Comments