The Association of National Championship Rally Organisers (ANCRO) held their annual awards ceremony earlier today in Stratford-upon-Avon to recognise the champions from the 2010 MSA Gravel Rally Championship.

And whilst celebrations were the order of the day, following many years as organisers of the National series, this was to be the last one so it was especially poignant as outright champions for 2010; Jonny Milner and Ian Windress collected their awards from MSA Chief Executive, Colin Hilton.

Milner, the 2002 and 2003 British Rally Champion from Driffield, along with Northallerton co-driver Windress, who was ANCRO champion in 2005 also, came back after a few years away and was reunited with his venerable double championship winning Toyota Corolla WRC. A hat-trick of victories on the Pirelli Tour of Cumbria, Severn Valley Stages Rally and 60 & Worcestershire National Rally meant he and Windress claimed the title with a round to spare.

After debuting their Ford Focus WRC on Rallye Sunseeker, Charlie Payne from Ripon, along with York co driver Craig Thorley went on to clinch runner-up spot in the series after winning the final event, their home Trackrod National Rally.

Third place went to Durham youngster Stephen Petch and the experienced John Richardson from Northallerton who proved consistency was the key by scoring in every round but falling just short of winning a round in their Hyundai Accent WRC.

Other notable award winners included Alex Allingham and Mark Glennerster who made the transition from winning in the BTRDA Championship in 2009 to take the Production Cup and Subaru Cup in their Impreza whereas the Viking Ford Escort Challenge went the way of Chris Wigmore.

The Patterson Pace Notes All- Ireland Challenge winner was John McGaffin (Subaru), Ian Barrett and Gavin Wright took the 1400cc Cup whilst Jamie Anderson was crowned Junior Champion as well as lifting the Mitsubishi Cup as Kirsty Riddick won the Junior co-drivers title.

The full list of awards winners are as follows:

The MSA Gravel Rally Championship Overall Awards
1st Overall Driver Jonny Milner
1st Overall Co-Driver Ian Windress

2nd Overall Driver Charlie Payne
2nd Overall Co-Driver Craig Thorley

3rd Overall Driver Stephen Petch
3rd Overall Co-Driver John Richardson

The MSA Gravel Rally Championship Production Cup Award
1st Overall Group N Driver Alex Allingham
1st Overall Group N Co-Driver Mark Glennerster

The MSA Gravel Rally Championship Class Awards
Class 3 1st Driver Jamie Anderson
Class 3 1st Co-Driver Horace Saville

Class 3 2nd Driver Tom Naughton
Class 3 2nd Co-Driver Mark Mason

Class 3 3rd Driver Wug Utting
Class 3 3rd Co-Driver Derek Davies

Class 4 1st Driver Steve Perez
Class 4 1st Co-Driver Paul Spooner

Class 4 2nd Driver Paul Bird
Class 4 2nd Co-Driver Kirsty Riddick

Class 8 1st Driver Chris Wigmore
Class 8 1st Co-Driver Steve Lyons

Class 10 1st Driver Roger Duckworth
Class 10 1st Co-Driver Mark Broomfield

Class 10 2nd Driver Marcus Dodd
Class 10 2nd Co-Driver Andrew Bargery

The MSA Gravel Rally Championship 1400cc Cup
1st Overall Driver Ian Barrett
1st Overall Co-Driver Gavin Wright

The MSA Gravel Rally Championship Junior Award (Under 25 years old)
1st Overall Driver Jamie Anderson
1st Overall Co-Driver Kirsty Riddick

The Viking Ford Escort Challenge
1st Overall Driver Chris Wigmore

The Subaru Cup
1st Overall Alex Allingham

The Mitsubishi Trophy
1st Overall Jamie Anderson

The Patterson Pace Notes All-Ireland Challenge
1st Overall John McGaffin

Picture attached (courtesy of Mark Simpson ( From left to right Mark Glennerster, Alex Allingham (Production Cup Champions), Colin Hilton (MSA Chief Executive), Jonny Milner, Ian Windress (Overall Champions).



Powered by Facebook Comments