Kick Energy rally driver Steve Perez took a resounding victory on today’s Woodpecker Stages Rally and in doing so clinched the 2010 Silverstone Tyres BTRDA Rally Series with a round to spare.

Driving the BTR-prepared ex Marcus Gronholm Ford Focus WRC07 and partnered by Welsh co driver Paul Spooner as normal, the Chesterfield ace set fastest time on six out of seven stages on the Ludlow-based event to take the win by nearly a minute ahead of nearest rivals Roger Chilman Jnr and Andrew Sankey (Subaru).

The pair reported no problems throughout the 45-stage mile event organised by Sixty & Worcestershire Motor Club Ltd which got underway when they stopped the clocks six seconds to the good over Roger Duckworth on the opening stage in Bringewood. The next stage in High Vinnalls saw the pair extend their lead to 23 seconds and they added another three seconds to their advantage in Hopton.

Following the Cwn y Gerwyn test, Perez’s lead was up to 41 seconds and another three were added following Ednol Hill. Into the last two tests and Perez was eyeing victory and the one second he dropped to Chilman on Wigmore was addressed when he set fastest time by ten seconds on the final stage in Haye Park to cross the finish ramp 59 seconds ahead of Chilman.

Perez’s fourth victory of the campaign, adding today’s win to that of the Malcolm Wilson, Dukeries and Quinton, means he doesn’t need to contest the final round of the series, The Cambrian Rally in North Wales next month, and the result sees Perez add the prestigious BTRDA title to that of his 2003 British Historic Rally Championship and the 2004 MSA National Rally Championship.

“The BTRDA series is where I first started competing in the sport as a co-driver so it means a lot to me to win it as a driver. After the problems we had on the opening round, when we were excluded for displaying the championship decals incorrectly, I made sure all was above board as I didn’t want to miss out this time. We had a trouble free run and I had to make sure we made no mistakes today which is what we did. It’s been a tough season and the car has been faultless, my thanks go to Tim Ashton and his team and also to Paul for doing a great job. I’m going to enjoy a couple of drinks tonight and then think about what to do next year which will probably involve a lot more events in the Lancia Stratos.”

1, Steve Perez/Paul Spooner – Ford Focus WRC – 0:44:41
2, Roger Chilman Jnr/Andrew Sankey – Subaru Impreza – 0:45:40
3, Nigel Griffiths/Jon Scott – Subaru Impreza – 0:45:52
4, Jonny Milner/Ian Windress – Toyota Corrolla WRC – 0:46:03
5, Charlie Payne/Craig Thorley – Ford Focus WRC06 – 0:46:18
6, John Lloyd/Adrian Cavenagh – Ford Focus WRC – 0:46:30
7, Alex Allingham/Mark Glennerster – Subaru Impreza – 0:46:57
8, Tom Naughton/Horace Saville – Mitsubishi Evo IX – 0:47:04
9, Stephen Petch/John Richardson – Hyundai Accent WRC – 0:47:33
10, Gary Cooper/Jon Riley – Subaru Impreza – 0:47:33

Picture courtesy of Geoff Mayes Media.



Powered by Facebook Comments