* FIA-approved fuel
* A reduction to six quality all-gravel events Revised scoring system
* Only one dropped score
* 5 registration fee
* Capped entry fees and guaranteed mileage
* Ford Escort Challenge
* 1400cc Cup
* Manufacturers Award reintroduced Club Team Award
* Land & Range Rover Cup

Following on from gaining approval from the Motor Sports Association (MSA), the Association of National Championship Rally Organisers (ANCRO) wish to announce plans for the 2010 MSA Gravel Rally Championship which will see a number of sweeping changes aimed at benefiting the competitors.

The 2010 series has been reduced from eight rounds to six, all on gravel, whereby a competitor’s best five rounds will count towards the championship, thus dropping only one score, as opposed to the current system of dropping three.

There will be no control tyre, nor a control fuel, instead competitors can use whatever brand of tyres and FIA-approved fuel they so wish and as an extra incentive, the registration fees have been slashed to just 5 pounds for drivers and is free for co drivers and manufacturers.

Events will consist of between 55 and 60 miles of competitive stages with entry fees capped at 695 pounds (4WD) and 595 pounds (2WD) and in addition, a bonus points scheme will reward drivers of less powerful cars to contest the overall championship as well as the classes.

As well as retaining the Production Cup and Junior Award, a number of new Manufacturers Awards will cater for Group N, Group A and S2000 marques also.

Drivers of the iconic Ford Escort Mk1 and Mk2 will feature in the Viking Ford Escort Challenge, exclusively for these models, and in addition, there are classes for the 1400cc Cup, Super 2000 Cup and Land & Range Rover Cup. A Club Team Award has also been introduced which will see drivers combining their scores to land this coveted trophy.

Provisional Calendar

26/27 February – Rallye Sunseeker – Southern CC
23/24 April – Pirelli Tour of Cumbria – Cumberland Sporting MC
6 June – Severn Valley Stages Rally – Midland Manor MC
17 July – Pro Art Signs Swansea Bay – Rally Port Talbot MC
4 September – Woodpecker – Rally 60 & Worcester MC
25 September – Trackrod National Rally – Trackrod MC

Further details, including a new website containing all championship information, will be released in due course.



Powered by Facebook Comments