Twenty-five years after he first contested the event as a co-driver, Kick Energy rally driver Steve Perez romped to his second Dukeries Rally victory after a superb performance in the Sherwood Forest region today.

On the 1984 event as a co-driver, Perez managed to get his driver a two minute time penalty by clocking in early, but the Chesterfield businessman saw no such problems as he and co-driver Sam Collis romped to a 21 second win on the fifth round of the BTRDA series.

Driving the Ford Focus RS WRC 07, the pair trailed the BTRDA regulars in the early stages but once they got into the flow on the dry and dusty stages, Perez and Collis soon upped the pace.

However, a gearbox problem on SS4 saw them drop to third but they bounced back to eventually take the lead and with it the victory on his local event, much to his satisfaction:

“That’s the second Dukeries win I’ve had and they don’t come much better as I was made to work hard for it. The car stopped on SS4 and I thought it was all over so I shut everything down and rebooted it all and it came good again and after that, there were no problems. A quarter of a century ago, I clocked my driver in early but now I know what it means so I apologise!” said Perez afterwards.


1, Steve Perez/Sam Collis – Ford Focus WRC – 0:40:40
2, Damian Cole/Tim Sturla – Hyundai Accent WRC – 0:41:01
3, Charlie Payne/Craig Thorley – Mitsubishi Lancer WRC S2 – 0:41:07
4, David Wright/Michael Wilkinson – Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9 – 0:41:11
5, John Lloyd/Adrian Cavenagh – Ford Focus – 0:41:40
6, Andrew Barnes/Guy Simmons – Ford Focus – 0:41:43
7, Nigel Griffiths/Josh Burton – Subaru Impreza – 0:42:03
8, Peter Egerton/Jamie Edwards – Hyundai Accent WRC – 0:42:18
9, Thomas Naughton/Horace Saville – Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9 – 0:42:53
10, Tristan Pye/Roger Herron – Subaru Impreza – 0:43:13

Photograph courtesy of Ian Hardy, www.ianhardy.net



Powered by Facebook Comments