Premier rally series continues with new rallies and a Shootout to determine which is the fastest two-wheel-drive team in the country.

After two successful years of bringing the best of two-wheel-drive rally action to the United States, the MaxAttack! Rally Series is evolving it’s format for 2009 to better serve its competitors, increase competition, and increase the value of the series.

While the per-event cash payout for each event will remain the same, there will be a format change in the chase for the coveted Jake Himes Cup. Rather than have to contest all three events in the season, competitors will run either a western or eastern qualifying event, with all teams contesting a central “shootout.” The highest point total from the two events will be the winner. The per-event payout will again be available to all two-wheel-drive entrants, regardless of how many of the series events a team may contest.

The new format addresses the challenges of competing in a national championship in such a large country during a struggling economy. It will serve to make the competition better at all of the events and will actually enhance the value of the championship to competitors, events, and sponsors alike, as more of North America’s top two-wheel-drive rally competitors will find the series within reach.

“We are very grateful for the support we have received from the rallies that have been part of our series for the last two years. This change of venue is in no way related to the quality of the events,” explains Eric Burmeister of the Rallysports Group of America. “We just wanted to try some new events so we could use our positive influence to help even more rallies. The switch to a Shootout from a Triple Crown format allowed us to experiment a little, and it is destined to keep the fight for the Jake Himes Cup a nail biter to the end!”

The three events that will constitute the 2009 MaxAttack! Rally Series are:
* Rally Idaho, July 9-11, Mountain Home, ID,
* New England Forest Rally, July 17-18, Bethel, ME,
* Ojibwe Forests Rally, August 28-29, Bemidji, MN,

Rally Idaho and the New England Forest Rally will be the qualifying events for the Jake Himes Cup, and Ojibwe Forests will be the central Shootout event.

The MaxAttack! Rally Series, presented by the Rallysports Group of America, consists of three events across the country, and each event will feature a $5,000 prize fund to be distributed among the top two-wheel-drive teams, as well as a season championship.

For more information about the MaxAttack! Series and the Rallysports Group of America, please visit

About Rallysports Group of America
Rallysports Group of America, Inc. (RSGA) was formed as an organization in 2006 to advance the sport of performance stage rally in the United States. By providing education on performance driving, car preparation and safety, and by fostering the growth of meaningful competition, RSGA seeks to provide a sustainable and competitive arena for the advancement of North American performance rally that promotes increased value for rally competitors, organizers, and sponsors alike. For more information, please visit

Photo by Adam Crane



Powered by Facebook Comments