haw08_krolik.jpgHenry Krolikowski is the 2007 Rally America Regional Rally Open Class champion! After a hard fought battle with fellow competitors John Cassidy and Dave Getchell, victory was secured February 22-23, 2008 at the Rally America Regional Rally Championship Run-offs, occurring simultaneously with the 2008 100 Acre Woods National Rally. Henry also took the championship event overall win.

Both Cindy and Henry Krolikowski are no strangers to championship efforts. They won the very first SCCA Group 5 National Championship in 1996 in their 1987 Dodge Shadow, and again in 1999. Henry won the Woodner Cup twice and was the 1992 SCCA National Divisional Champion when the contest was “winner take all” regardless of class.

In 2000, the team started to campaign a Subaru WRX, which has undergone continuous improvement to motor, transmission and body with the help of four Michigan companies: Autosport Engineering in Ann Arbor, Hodges Subaru in Ferndale, Red’s Frame Shop in Highland and Discount Tire in Taylor. The Subaru performed flawlessly under difficult road conditions at the championship event.

Strategy is the team’s most valuable asset. As Henry Krolikowski said: “We know we’re not the fastest team, nor the most “well-funded” team – especially since we are entirely self-funded and have had to make many sacrifices throughout the years to compete in the sport we love! And age is certainly a factor in our performance. However, if longevity has taught us anything, it is to pace ourselves over a two day event, pay attention to event structure and rules, and to be ready to take advantage of opportunities for success.”

Even though the team was looking forward to spring-like weather in Missouri, Henry’s rally experience led him to bring along the General Tire snows from last January’s 2008 Sno*Drift Rally. As the weather continued to worsen, he was able to successfully re-groove the set of used tires to fit the changing wintry conditions.

The Krolikowskis wish to thank Bill Garcia at Hodges Subaru, Graham Wilcock of Autosport Engineering, Josh VanDenHeuvel for his facilitation with the General Tire brand, and Dave and Joanne Crockett of Red’s Frame Shop. More thanks go to John, Chris, Dave and Jen Furchak, Bill and Cindy Hodges, Russ, Ami and Lily Hodges, Al Hodges, Al “K” Kaumeheiwa, Jeff Secor, the Raasakka family, Greg Healey and Keith Kreisler for the excellent service provided during the year. And a special remembrance goes out to Jim Buszek. May your many crew chief talents get you a position with the best-funded team in heaven!

Photograph by Lorne Trezise. Used with Permission.



Powered by Facebook Comments