Special Stage Forums banner

Anyone know of good ways to raise money to buy a rally car?

24K views 59 replies 28 participants last post by  rallyxr4ti 
#1 ·
Hi. I'm 17 and I've always wanted to go rallying. The problem is im a 17 year old highschool student with little money. Does anyone know of a good way to raise money to buy a car to Rallycross in? Im just trying to get something that I can take out on weekends and have fun in, and eventually when im older and have a solid job prep it for stage rally. Thoughts?

#5 ·
I saved nearly every penny I had to 10 years after I graduated college before I jumped in to compete. That first year, I ant the equivalent of my salary the year I started saving to do car prep, buy suits, hotels, entry fees, trailer, upgraded vehicles, etc.

Financial planning and adherence to those plans are a must. If you hate managing your money, this hobby ain't for you.

#10 ·
and eventually when im older and have a solid job prep it for stage rally. Thoughts?
Beyond finding a $5 bill in the parking lot or having a large trust fund land on your lap you'll probably have to work on it. But since you are already thinking about starting small and working up to things take a look at what people are running at the rallyX, it doesn't have to be fancy. Anything light, cheap and reliable should be good for a bunch of grins. then like you said as you can get a job and regular income and then disposable income you can toss that cheap car for something more exciting or start building it into a stage car.

from the other thread it sounds like you are already out volunteering which is great.. thanks! now maybe meet some teams, convince them to let you help with service and make friends and contacts.

#11 ·